www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Builders Reports

Pulse 50 Speed Controllers - TDT - QLD [1280 x 960]
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic
  Author    Thread
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4436
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

thats a question, how should one dispose of the ammonium persulphate ?
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Mon May 14, 2007 10:55 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

I buried mine in the back yard with plenty of water. The trees can do something with it. After all, ammonia is a natural substance....

I was reading a website on the toner transfer method and they suggested soaking it up in paper and throwing it in the bin.

Post Mon May 14, 2007 11:41 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

I just noticed this line

if fail =< 4 then main
if fail = 4 then motor_off

and changed it to

if fail =< 4 then main
if fail > 4 then motor_off

but I still have to wait for 2 seconds for it to turn off. I might change it to 1 fail before turning off to speed it up a bit.

The second lot of code, for the relay controller, is fine tho.

Post Tue May 15, 2007 12:28 am 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Knightrous
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 8511
Location: NSW


 Reply with quote  

Yeah, Neweyn and I worked out the related issue with the failsafe. The reason it takes so long to work is that the picaxe takes around 400ms to check the pulsin function. So if it's checking every 4 pulses, there is 1600ms (1.6sec) which is why it delays so much in failsafe, but works fine in the driving functions.

This was one of the reasons I started looking at upping the speed of the 08M to 8mhz, but then I had to keep changing it back to 4Mhz to handle the PWM properly and it was becoming annoying. Shortly after I started looking into PIC chips like Jake, but I never got that far Rolling Eyes
_________________
https://www.halfdonethings.com/

Post Tue May 15, 2007 9:47 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

I'm wondering if it waits for a high on the pin and then use count for say 4ms.

eg.
pulse:
If receiver = 1 then time
else
timer = timer + 1
if timer >= maxtime then failsafe
goto pulse

time:
count receiver,4000,w4
w4 = w4 + (error value from the if statement)
goto main

And knock it up to 8MHz for a finer resolution

Post Tue May 15, 2007 11:44 am 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Knightrous
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 8511
Location: NSW


 Reply with quote  

The issue I was was that while it was counting pulses, it took too long. I'm guessing it's because the picaxe doesn't have an interrupt function. When you run the pulsin command, if it doesn't recieve a pulse instantly in the loop, it seems to hang (bout 400ms), waiting for a pulse.

Dumhed explain bits of this when he played with the serial commands for his picaxe 433mhz radio. The serial command doesn't stop if it doesn't get a signal, it just keeps waiting, and if nothing comes... it's stuck there till it gets hard reset Smile

I was pretty content with the "turn the transmitter off and it stopped" failsafe without the counting system. As long as the signal was withing 1.5ms and 2.5ms, it was pretty likely to have come from the transmitter Very Happy
_________________
https://www.halfdonethings.com/

Post Tue May 15, 2007 12:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
DumHed
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 1219
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

yep, that's why I ended up doing a hardware failsafe on my boards.
If the picaxe gets stuck waiting for a pulse, it stops sending an OK pulse to the failsafe, and after a short delay, the outputs are turned off.

It works pretty well, but I haven't played with it for ages.
_________________
The Engine Whisperer - fixer of things

Post Tue May 15, 2007 2:58 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4436
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

is it possible to poll the pin with the radio on it? rather than pulse in'ing.
IE do you have access to the hardware timers?
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Tue May 15, 2007 8:08 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

I took my it in to uni today, for the obligatory oooh aaah session. I just had a drill motor hanging off it, going up, down, full forward to full back, showing all of the sparking at the motors brushes Cool . I like it.

Easy question. Isn't it a better idea to use a diode arrangement like on a H-bridge circuit, rather than capacitors, to prevent the relays from arcing? It makes much more sense to me to use diodes. They have already taken out all of the ringing in the motor = no singing Sad Razz

Also, to run it at a higher voltage I was going to run the coils from the 12V reg. Instead could I put a resistor series with the coils?

Post Thu May 17, 2007 7:25 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Totaly_Recycled
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1346


 Reply with quote  

capacitors in paralell with the contacts give the current some where to flow as the contacts open so it helps to stop an arc from forming they discharge again when the contacts close

Post Thu May 17, 2007 8:18 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

I made a bit of a wiring mess Razz

Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:25 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Totaly_Recycled
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1346


 Reply with quote  

what the crap is it ? a speed controler ?

Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:31 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

Hopefully Confused

Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:56 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Knightrous
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 8511
Location: NSW


 Reply with quote  

You can save a lot of mess by taping the relays into pairs and using little 25mm bridges across the positive and negative terminals to make it a single pair of power wires...

Like this:


_________________
https://www.halfdonethings.com/

Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:40 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Fish_in_a_Barrel



Joined: 30 Sep 2006
Posts: 673
Location: Perth, Western Australia


 Reply with quote  

The reason why there is so much wire, is because I have no idea how or where it will fit, so I've left a lot of room for movement.

Post Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:45 am 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
  Display posts from previous:      

Forum Jump:
Jump to:  

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 6 of 7

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Last Thread | Next Thread  >
Powered by phpBB: © 2001 phpBB Group
millenniumFalcon Template By Vereor.