www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

Nicad chargers
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic
  Author    Thread
Knightrous
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 8492
Location: NSW


 Reply with quote  

I found the problem Smile Was an IO (Idiot Operator Razz ) error and the fact didn't read all the section on NiMH in the manual Mad . (I mainly charge NiCD's here...) The Triton actually has a different menu for each type of battery chemistry. after switching it to NiMH and checking out the menu, I found this:


A charge limit... problem found.. I'll just ramp it up a bit...

Fixed! and here are some more random snap shots...

Not sure what that does, but I guess it allows you to keep sticking a bit more amperage into it after it peaks out.

a 3mV setting for NiMH, which is lower then the NiCD 5mV setting...

Now, remember to read the manual.... or don't lose it in the first place like me Embarassed
_________________
Team Knightrous

Post Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:18 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Ajax
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

sounds like you had an ID 10 T error Razz
_________________
It's all about the destruction.

Post Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:36 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger ICQ Number
NMO
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 486
Location: Melbourne


 Reply with quote  

Just a quick question for those of you who are using computer power supplies to run your tritons. are you using atx or at and if atx, how do you turn them on.

I've tried an old at power supply but when I go and draw more than 4 amps from the 12V rail the charger goes into low voltage shutdown.

Post Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:27 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4433
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

yeah ATX ~400W
biggest AT PSU i have seen is like 230W

just connect the green wire in the motherboard plug to ground.
I usually just stick a wire in the plug end.
(ground is black and any ground in that plug should be ok)
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:32 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
NMO
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 486
Location: Melbourne


 Reply with quote  

what about minimum loads, do we have to worry about this

Post Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:05 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4433
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

we havent ;->
no probs so far

if you do pull too much current then the 12v rail will sag (well too low anyway)
then its advantageous to load the 5V rail
but yeah 3.6A at 24V no worries with a supernopava on a 400W supply
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:19 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

I have an 8 A 12 v AC adaptor type power supply. The unloaded voltage is 14.5 v. The battery charger gives me an incorrect voltage warning at this voltage. Should I place a load in parrallel with my charger? Should I not use this supply?
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:04 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 3160
Location: Melbourne, Australia


 Reply with quote  

To check it properly, you need a Oscilloscope to look at the output waveform..

Without a scope, you can have a guess by looking inside.. if its a linear supply (with a big-ass transformer inside) but doesnt have some big beefy capacitors and heavily heatsinked power transistors inside, then chances are its an half-rectified, un-filtered unregulated supply.

Most of cheap powerful ones are - its the big capacitors and power regulators that cost the $$.

If its a switch-mode (lots of electronic components, no big heavy iron transformer), then you definitely need to scope it to see how nice the power it makes is.

If all you want to do is charge wet-cell lead acids, its not so critical, as long as you listen for the fizz and disconnect when charged. If its sealed lead-acids you want to charge, or operate delicate electronic equipment that wants a nice stable input, then I wouldnt use it directly.

You could hook it up to a small wet-cell car battery and run a computer charger from that.. the battery will soak up any noise from the charger and smooth out the power.. as long as you dont mind lugging the battery around with it.
_________________
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people

Post Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:25 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

There is what appears to be a full wave rectifier bolted to the case with heat compound and two 10 000 nanofarrad capacitors in the power supply. I do not have access to an oscilloscope. Thanks for your advice.
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:47 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Totaly_Recycled
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1346


 Reply with quote  

A real rough test but usualy gives a good indication is hook an old am car radio to it with speaker atached dont bother with an aerial if the speaker hums and buzzes definatly dont use it on your good batery charger Very Happy

Post Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:45 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
assassin



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 1105
Location: SunshineCoast


 Reply with quote  

Triton only charges up to 4 LiPoly cells, please comfirm. Cheers.
_________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.
Albert Einstein.

Post Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:24 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nick
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 11799
Location: Sydney, NSW


 Reply with quote  

That is correct - don't know why, it can source way more than a 4C Lipo pack
_________________
Australian 2015 Featherweight champion
UK 2016 Gladiator champion

Post Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:05 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
leo-rcc



Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 231
Location: Hoogvliet, Netherlands


 Reply with quote  

My schulze Chameleon can charge 11C, but Schulze balancers are either 8C or 14C max. Confused I have the option of LiPo, LiLo, and LiFe though i dont know what those except LiPo are.

Post Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:23 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Nick
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 11799
Location: Sydney, NSW


 Reply with quote  

LiFe might be the new A123 cells. Which Schulze model and firmware do you have? The Schulze chargers are very hard to get over here, all the shops are on permanent back-order and the prices are exorbitant!
_________________
Australian 2015 Featherweight champion
UK 2016 Gladiator champion

Post Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:38 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
leo-rcc



Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 231
Location: Hoogvliet, Netherlands


 Reply with quote  

Its a Schulze Chamele├Ân ISL 6-636e with the latest firmware (8.41), had it sent to Schulze last month to install.

Post Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:44 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      

Forum Jump:
Jump to:  

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 3 of 5

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Last Thread | Next Thread  >
Powered by phpBB: © 2001 phpBB Group
millenniumFalcon Template By Vereor.