www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

Small question about transistors and mosfets

Author    Thread
dyrodium
Experienced Roboteer

Small question about transistors and mosfets

I think I am JUST starting to understand these things, but, before I go out and buy a few to experiment, I would like to check afew things...;

Transistors work by a small current flowing 2 of the legs, causing a larger current to flow (eg, 3v to 9v)

Mosfets Are like transistors, but handle larger currents, and can be used for speed control (somehow!).

I am currently studying my drill controlers for hints on how to make my own.

Any more important info (like what goes where) would be much welcome.

Thanks!

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

Post Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:34 pm 
Philip
Experienced Roboteer

Mosfet info http://homepages.which.net/~paul.hills/SpeedControl/Mosfets.html

Post Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:14 pm 
colin

I think some of your impressions are wrong.

"Transistors work by a small current flowing 2 of the legs, causing a larger current to flow (eg, 3v to 9v) "

I don't even follow that... "2 of the legs"?? "current flow" then you put a voltage in brackets?? that's not current

mosfets don't really handle larger currents...speed control can be done using either, using multiple methods.

I'm to lazy to type up a nice explanation on it...but i know spockie will give you some nice info

Post Thu Feb 03, 2005 7:20 pm 
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin

Well, thats a very big field to cover with a brief explanation.. Shocked

He's sort of close.

Transistors are current-controlled amplifiers,
Mosfets are voltage-controlled amplifiers.

with a Transistor (NPN type), the small current flow through the Base-Emitter junction determines how much current will be allowed to flow through the Collector-Emitter junction. Kind of like a water-valve that controls the flow of a large amount of water from a small amount of water flow.