www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Off-Topic

The RoboWars Computer Tech Support Department
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 66, 67, 68  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic
  Author    Thread
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  
The RoboWars Computer Tech Support Department

ok well my computer shat its'self today and i had to wipe the lot and re-install. the thing im now confused about is that when ever im using internet explorer and i scroll down it is almost as if the refresh rate has droped down to close on minimum and i get mega lag while scroling any ideas how to fix this problem as its realy disterbing because this thing shouldent have this problem because its a p4 with 1gb of ram it should be breasing this any ideas any one? Confused
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:05 am 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 3160
Location: Melbourne, Australia


 Reply with quote  

sounds like you dont have the correct driver for your video card installed.

have a look under device manager (control panel, system, hardware, device manager), in the display adapters section. if your video card isnt listed by name, or it says "standard vga" or something, then it wont be running in accelerated mode which is why you get the slow scrolling
_________________
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:33 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  

ok its come up with "video controler (vga compatable)" and i know i have a 3dgraphics card in this would that be it just with out the drivers installed??would this also account for the slow boot ups??
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:53 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  

LOL i found the driver and it was right in front of my face all the time LOL well my net connection works more smoth like it did before. but it dident do much for loading into windows any ideas how to speed it up. also i have an overclocking program any ideas on how much i could "saftely" over clock my p4 processor??
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 2:38 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ffej
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Kurrajong, NSW


 Reply with quote  

Im assuming your running Windows XP here . . . . IF it were me, I wouldnt be running windows unless I absolutely had to . . . . but this stuff could help:

Make sure you have installed ALL of your drivers . . . if its a PC with one of intel's new chipsets (eg 915P) make sure you have the intel application accelerator installed. Check what system services your loading at startup, use a guide like the one found at http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/xpprofiles.htm . Keep in mind you can screw your system up if you remove something you shouldnt have.

At this early stage, there shouldnt be any programs started at boot, or anything in your prefetch folder, but you might as well check anyway. Check it with Start >> Run >> type "msconfig" and run it for the programs, go to the C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch and delete anything in there, its safe to do that. nothing will die. For any other things I need to know more about your system, the hardware, what drivers are / arent installed etc . . . . you could use a program like SiSoftware's Sandra to get a hardware summary.

As for the overclocking, the same as above, only thing I can suggest is that if you do, do it with a software program, not in the bios, unless your like me and constantly have the cases off the side of your PC with easy access to the CMOS reset pin, which you'll need to use on several occasions . . .
Download a program like FanSpeed and monitor your PC's temp, if its getting to about 65^o C under load (processors tend to melt at about 80^oC), drop your overclock a bit. As a general rule dont exceed more than 110% of your original clock speed without a third party heatsink fan (some of the new intel HSF's are an exception) and dont touch the V-Core voltage unless your sure you know exactly what your doing, or you could end up with a case of Sudden Northwood (or prescott) Death Syndrome (where the micro just dies) or a more dramatic death involving smoldering silicone . . . .
_________________
Jeff Ferrara
fb@ffej.net

ffej.net


Last edited by ffej on Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:00 am; edited 1 time in total

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:02 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4435
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

overclocking on a P4 is a waste of time unless you are doing it for the fun of it, or for the last few fps in a game.
it wont improve application performance much at all.

if you dont use your network adaptors try disabling those, it may improove boot speed.
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:37 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  

righty o then ummmm there isnt alot i can do i have noticed that both times this com has been wiped it has slowed down conciderably so im guessing that every time you wipe your computer it takes away from the computers performance the good news for this is i will be getting a new computer asap that will do EXACTALY what i want at the moment this dosnt this is getting more and more slugish every time my gran mother touches it so yeah even though this computer is mine every one else uses it not to mention this isnt the greatest for gameing and net surfing so im gonna gear up my next computer with that inmind as it wont need office or other crap like that the only problem is that it will have to be windows so i will need to max it with antivirus programs and other things that windows users need or the people with 0 hobby that spend their time ploting revenge against the inocent by makeing virus's and ad ware/spy ware all the time. (during the time it was takeing for norton to update it contracted about 12 virus's which were all removed after it finished updating) so yeah
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix

Post Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:54 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4435
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

generally when you format and re-install the computer will get *much* faster

when i say format i mean exactly that, back the stuff you want up onto CD then boot of the XP install CD and tell it to *format* the drive
that will totally and irrecovably erase the entire contense of the drive.

then you go on to install windows again
now before you do this if you arent behind a firewall you should go and get XP service pack 2 and put it on CD, install windows, then apply SP2
only after this point can you connect the computer to the internet
an unpatched XP install has a lifetime of 17 minutes online at the moment before it will be infected with something.
then go to windows update and do the critical updates
then it'll want to reboot
then go to windows update again
rinse lather and repeat
(note you may ommit patches for IE at the moment (reccomended for advanced users) but do *not* visit any sites other than microsoft)

next go to http://www.mozilla.org/ and get their internet suite (firebird and whatever their email thing is)
There are some security flaws in it but it presents a much smaller target than IE. Use that wherever you can, basically you only "need" IE for internet banking (and you can fake your way out of that too)

now you have that out of the way go about getting drivers for your computer. Start with your motherboard if you got a driver CD then its probbly good enough.
then do video and sound (you may want to do video first so you can see some of the websites)

Then go back to windows update, install direct X9 and you will probbly want windows media player. currently there is no real need for .net.

lastly install the latest version of IE (again from windows update) (you can do this in your spare time)
reboot and re run windows update, always running all critical updates.

scan through the "windows" section (where DX9 and media player etc are listed) and theres things like root certificate updates, get them.
you wont hurt your computer by installing any of them. but do you really need that swahili language pack? no so dont get that.

if you install office. go to office.microsoft.com and find office update or somehting simmilar and go through their cycle.
you might want to considder open office instead. its not "quite" as good as microsoft office but hey at least its free, and its actually not that bad. (works ~90% with office.)

if you want to unfuck a computer thats how,

to keep it unfucked *dont* just click on anything that pops up on the screen
dont run programs you get from porn sites (wtf did you think would happen anyway?)
dont run files you get in email they are viruses.
nobody wants you to look at their webcam and chat /w them
basically believe that 90% of all things that say they are human contact are crap and are trying to rip your computer off so that these people can get paid to f*** with other peoples connections and spam.

I dont run a firewall or AV, I do run telnet, ftp, IIS, MySQL and other servers on my router (I do periodic virus scans with symantecs online scanner, www.symantec.com , security response , check for security risks, (noe you must be running IE) and I haven't ever been infected with anything.

the 2 most important rules are
Dont click *anything* unless you know for absolute certain what it is going to do.
visit windowsupdate.microsoft.com as often as you would like to get laid.

amen

oh 98% of all emails telling you there is a virus and all you gotta do is x to get rid of it or whatever are a *HOAX*

if you want to start a usefull chain letter send something like this around.

personally i'd title it "unfucking 101" but thats not very PC and also it would lead many people to completley and utterly root their computers, but hey that aint so bad, they shouldnt have em in the first place.
can ya tell its about 3:00AM?
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:38 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  

ok well jake its closer to 2 but meh i know where your comeing from.

at the moment its installing xp SP2 the only problem i had doing that is getting it but its all good cause i went and got all norton's updates on cd so i had all that installed so no prob with the short life span any more untill the sp finishes i have got windows firewall running aswell so net saftey is all good my net connection is slow and because of that it is takeing ages to update the prefered files of mine (mainly my game i like to play) and a few other things that arnt nessarry but are help full.

i have not been bothered with porn sites like whats the point i havent gotten any emails with "programs" attached i have norton downloading any and every symantic update it has and crap so if i cop any crap then it would have to be new and not regestered i have it so norton scans every hour or 2 for a full scan also it has increased in its over all speed a fair amount in the last 24 hours its about at 80% the speed it was when i orriganly got it but thats an over all increase by about 15-20% of what it was after it was wiped so its good but then again last time it was wiped i was stupid and got it on the net before i installed any anti virus programs or updated windows :S

but either way its on the upside so far i might start a chain letter along the lines of how to un-f#@! your computer and put a step by step guide of how to fix the damn things back up with all the little usefull hints for it that i can find Smile
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix


Last edited by Waddy the phoenix on Sun Nov 21, 2004 8:01 pm; edited 1 time in total

Post Fri Nov 19, 2004 8:31 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 3160
Location: Melbourne, Australia


 Reply with quote  

ahem.. I hate to take the position of netiqutte nazi again wade, you're going to think I'm deliberately out to hassle you (after my post the other day).. I'm really not..

but could you possibly see fit to occasionally push "enter" a couple of times when typing a big message like that ? Trying to read it is like tying to read a crossword puzzle..

Thanks
_________________
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people

Post Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:14 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  

will fix it for you brett and its kk i never think any one is out to get me except in the ring where its ment to happen
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix

Post Sun Nov 21, 2004 7:59 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

I downloaded QuickTime the other day and now my other media players don't work. I have tried uninstalling them and re installing them. Any ideas?

Post Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:37 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
mytqik



Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 127


 Reply with quote  

When you install Quicktime, it sets itself to be the default player for a wide range of media types. To fix this, you can open up your prefered media player for certain media & set that program as the default player for that media type.

When you say, "it doesn't work", do you mean that your other player wont open up? or when you try to open a media type that quicktime loads?

Post Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:19 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Waddy the phoenix



Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 971
Location: sydney


 Reply with quote  

hmmm also when installing quicktime it asks you what media you want it to play its a simple mistake to just keep next'ing through
_________________
as a shadow is seen and not heard i am here
-Waddy the phoenix

Post Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:39 am 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

The Winamp opens but there are no pictures.

I did just hit next all the way through the QuickTime installation.

Post Thu Dec 09, 2004 1:24 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      

Forum Jump:
Jump to:  

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 68

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 66, 67, 68  Next

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Last Thread | Next Thread  >
Powered by phpBB: © 2001 phpBB Group
millenniumFalcon Template By Vereor.