www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

how to measure motor mount holes reliably?

Author    Thread
miles&Jules
Experienced Roboteer

how to measure motor mount holes reliably?

Hi guys..total noob question here.
I still haven't worked out a reliable way to accurately measure the bolt holes in a motor for face mounting. What do you guys do? I have been 3d printing up a pattern doing slight adjustments until it fits perfect….but that seems like to much messing around to just drill two damn holes.
[URL=http://s1091.photobucket.com/user/milesandjules/media/IMG_2209.jpg.html] [/URL]

-Pickasso- Vivid Sportsman champion 2015

Post Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:47 pm 
Nick
Experienced Roboteer

There are two techniques I like to use:

Place two screws in opposite holes, preferably use cap head screws and screw them all the way in to make the measurements more accurate. Using a caliper, measure across the outside of the screw heads and then the inside. Add the measurements together and divide by two to get the spacing between the holes or the bolt circle in this case.

For that motor with an offset shaft, the best measurement option is to not measure anything at all! You can buy or make a set of screw-in transfer punches that mark the motor mount with the screw locations. Here are some commercial screw-in xfer punches:

The type with a hex head are more accurate and faster to use. You can easily turn a point onto the head of a screw; its easier if you make the point larger than the one shown. For small screws, screw on a number of nylock nuts and grip the nuts in the lathe jaws.

When using more than three xfer punches at the same time, its important to get the points aligned at the same hight or not all the punches will make a mark. I like to cover the area with several layers of painter's tape , which is softer on the punch points and leaves a mark with little pressure on the part.