www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

speed controller choice for new builder

Author    Thread
Phyrexian Robotics

speed controller choice for new builder

I'm new to 30's (I only have experience with ants/beetles) and I am amassing parts for my first #30 build. I got some EV warrior motors from the recent surplus find in the US, so I will be using two of these for drive (with a 6:1 chain reduction). I put my proposed drive system (2 EVs @ 6:1, driving 6" wheels) into the team tentacle calculator and I got a max current draw of 33A (for hard pushing, or when I have an opponent on top of me). I have a scorpion XXL, but they can only supply 20A continuous per motor. I feel like this would not be enough in a hard pushing match. I just saw the botbitz ESCheap85, and I feel like it would be a better match. Is the 85A rating a continuous or a peak rating? Does it have a BEC, or do I need a receiver battery?

Post Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:20 pm 
Glen
Experienced Roboteer

Have to wait for steve to chime in on the rating but yes, the XXL will probably get eaten up running a pair of EVs. It can be a bit shakey running a pair of drills at the best of times Smile

Post Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:45 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
miles&Jules
Experienced Roboteer

Haven't heard of anyone destroying a botzbits tz85 yet....we have killed probably ten 775/776 motors in Wanda and the tz 's are fine (running 5 -6 cell a123s).
I love them! Laughing

-Pickasso- Vivid Sportsman champion 2015

Post Fri Aug 31, 2012 5:36 pm 
marto
Experienced Roboteer

Well to be honest I have no way of testing the TZ85as @ 85A which is there "Hobby" continuous rating. I would say ~50A cont is more realistic but to be honest I really don't know.

I know guys running dewalt setups on them and I heard tales of someone with a magmotor from Daniel. And am yet to hear of any failures.