RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> General Chatter

High School Combat Robot Club
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Author    Thread
dyrodium
Experienced Roboteer

High School Combat Robot Club

Ohai guys,
I've been approached by my old high school to manage a combat robot club next year. They've gone mad with clubs according to my sister (in yr 12) and apparently a few kids are keen. The fact they asked must mean there is some interest. Problem is they've let me down more than I can count, both when I was a student there *useless DT workshop forcing me to do a website for a major design project* and after *asking me to do a 5minute track for a video then stretching the track to 7minutes using video software >_>*

Thus, i'm really keen to do it but not getting my hopes too high yet. In any case, what are people thoughts on the kind of robots best suited to high school kids? Teenagers, and the club would be running all semester and there's 4 per year. Antweights are the cheapest option but stringing them out for that long would be a nightmare. I'm currently leaning towards beetleweights, offering a bit more flexibility and ease of construction for newbs with soldering irons. Either they'd have to make an arena, use ours if it gets built, or run no weapons?

If it DOES get off the ground, should be a real shot in the arm for the sport in NSW. Very Happy

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH

Post Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:15 pm 
Nick
Experienced Roboteer

Agreed, Beetleweights are a good starting point. They don't look dangerous enough to alarm the teachers an complex enough to keep students interested. Great news and I hope it works out!

Post Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:03 pm 
dyrodium
Experienced Roboteer

For sure! Did a bit of a shopping list... Looks pretty hopeful.

2 x 1000rpm gearmotors = $25

2 x Banebots 3-9a = $65

4ch hobbyking radio = $37

800mah 3S 20C lipo = $9

Total = $136