www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

Custom Radio Control System

Author    Thread
TheGubble

Custom Radio Control System

Hi,
I'm a year 11 student and I've started creating a bot with my mate.
I was wondering, (as it was not to clear in the rules) are pic's and wireless modules allowed (not sure if thats the proper name, http://jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=ZW3100).

I have had some experience with using this combination, and would love the experience of using this system in the bot.

Thanks.

Post Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:10 pm 
Glen
Experienced Roboteer

a few people use the 900mhz modems like zigbees and the like i believe, but those things are the kind they use on remote garage door openers and such. im not sure it would have the ability to drive a proportionally controlled robot.

would probably be able to do on / off control. and the range isnt too flash on them.

but welcome Smile what state are you from?

Post Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:21 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Fish_in_a_Barrel

I don't think there's anything in the rules preventing you from using those 433MHz modules, but I have heard that they pick up tremendous amounts of static.

Pics, go nuts! Jake uses them in his custom 900MHz control system, and some of us are running around with picaxe speed controllers. Just make sure that they failsafe Smile

Post Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:22 pm 
TheGubble

Thanks for the quick response!
I'm down in Victoria and I'm just looking through the events section of the forum to see whats on down at SideTracked.
I'm glad that i can use pic's and the wireless modules (I'll have to have a look into the interference, as i have only used those modules close range on 2 breadboards).
Thanks all.

Post Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:25 pm 
Rotwang
Experienced Roboteer

http://robowars.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=479