www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Rules, Safety, Administration

Queensland Arena Design
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Author    Thread
Daniel
Experienced Roboteer

Queensland Arena Design

We have discussed with almost everyone about the arena that is slowly being organised here in Queensland. My brother is handling the money and procurement side of the process and I have being trying to design the thing. Well this afternoon while I have being bored and lonely while my brother is in America I have finished my idea for the wall sections. I am posting up several drawings of the wall sections for anyone to supply some input into the design.

The drawings are rather rough as I started drawing from scratch a few hours ago. For some reason Inventor doesn't want me to add text into drawings which is why the title blocks have big holes in them. Also the drawings didn't survive being turned into jpg's very well, so if there is something on them that you can't read, just tell me and I'll explain it.

First picture of the assembly without the door and the roof. We still need to design those. The computer says 1463kg for this assembly.

The wall assembly drawing. Total 150.909kg per wall section.

Upper was drawing. 19.878kg for this part.

Middle wall section. 43.085kg

The bottom of the wall. 87.946kg. The barrier weighs 56kg.

I really need ideas for a door. It will need to swing out due to the inner barrier.

Post Sat Jun 16, 2007 7:06 pm 
Rotwang
Experienced Roboteer

I don’t really like the edge barrier, a lot of fights are going to end when bots get stuck on them fair enough that’s a legit tactic to stack or throw your opponent out of the arena but I prefer to keep the arena as neutral as possible.

I can see where you’re coming from wonting to protect the precious Pollycarb and ad strength.

Possibly an extra piece of pollycarb sloping out from the horizontal join in the wall sections to the edge of the edge barrier.