www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Off-Topic

The RoboWars Computer Tech Support Department
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 66, 67, 68

Post new topic   Reply to topic
  Author    Thread
Glen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 9481
Location: Where you least expect


 Reply with quote  

The 4 wire type has a PWM input for variable speed. My laser cutter uses one for some oddball reason!
_________________
www.demon50s.com - Minimoto parts
http://www.youtube.com/user/HyzerGlen - Videoooozzz

Post Thu May 26, 2016 3:52 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4435
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

I believe you can generally run the 4 wire ones without the PWM attached

Oh, check your battery voltage, a nominal 11.1v battery would be quite a bit higher than that when fully charged
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Fri May 27, 2016 9:56 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

Which dsl modem should I get?

My modem runs hot and it's power switch is failing so I am thinking about replacing it. We normally have two desk tops attached by cable to the modem and no wireless connections. Power efficiency is something I think is important (but I am not a greenie extremist). One computer is used to play online games.

Which brands are better or worse? Are there any changes to modems that should be considered for future proofing? Thanks.
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:45 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

Unfortunately modems seem very very hit and miss these days. I had a reasonable run with Linksys then the next one I got died. More recently I have given up and gone with dodgy chinese brand TP-Link. They have been reasonable and don't seem to be as high quality but they have been good to me for the price.

I have tried a string of other brands but unfortunately it seems to be almost device specific not brand which determines whether router is a good or bad unit.

Others might be more help

Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:00 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
evil_steve



Joined: 06 Sep 2015
Posts: 301
Location: Adelaide, SA


 Reply with quote  

I've had a Billion ADSL wireless router for a few years now, seems to work well.

Post Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:00 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 3160
Location: Melbourne, Australia


 Reply with quote  

Billion has a good rep for price vs reliability. TPLink is cheap and Ive seen quite a few fail, but they have a 3 year warranty, so you can just replace them if they do.

For SOHO and serious surfer use, I recommend Draytek.

A little bit more expensive than the "consumer" grade stuff, but well worth it IMO. Extremely high reliability.. Ive seen 2 fail out of hundreds in the last decade or so,

The plugpacks they come with arent so great, Ive seen a few (maybe 3-5% of them die within a couple of years, but they're just standard 12v units you can get at any electronics store).

The features in the firmware are great though.. Multi Wans, 3G backups, Load Balancing, great QOS. monitoring etc. The more advanced models probably not worth it if you're just the plug-it-in and use one or two computers type.

http://www.budgetpc.com.au/catalogsearch/result/?q=draytek
_________________
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people

Post Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:04 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4435
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

Either go cheap or top of the line.
Tplink are OK for the price.
Fritzbox are probably the best you can buy in the consumer space, I've had one for many years. Used the warranty when it got hit by lightning with no problems. 5 year warranty.
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:58 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

If anyone else uses VirtualBox and really needs open GL support.

I got it working by adding the registry keys from here:
https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=52324&start=15

This was necessary to get the latest UP studio working under linux.

Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:32 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
evil_steve



Joined: 06 Sep 2015
Posts: 301
Location: Adelaide, SA


 Reply with quote  

Cool, noted in case I do eventually decide to get an UP mini.

Post Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:57 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
marto
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 5459
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 Reply with quote  

Seems very buggy in VB but it works I found that you sort of need to open and close the windows menu

Fn + command on macbook in linux.

Shitty but if it lets me set custom temps I will deal.

Steve
_________________
Steven Martin
Twisted Constructions
http://www.botbitz.com

Post Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:26 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

Is voip good?

We are looking at a new package which includes voip. Is the sound quality good enough? Thanks.
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:59 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Valen
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 4435
Location: Sydney


 Reply with quote  

VoIP is as good as your internet connection.
All NBN voice services are delivered over voip, almost every new phone system is voip, it's pretty much everywhere.

People who have bad experiences are generally coming from bad providers or have a bad internet connection
_________________
Mechanical engineers build weapons, civil engineers build targets

Post Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:08 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

Good to hear. Thanks
_________________
So even the rain that falls isn't actually going to fill our dams and our river systems

Post Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:23 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      

Forum Jump:
Jump to:  

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 68 of 68

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 66, 67, 68

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Last Thread | Next Thread  >
Powered by phpBB: © 2001 phpBB Group
millenniumFalcon Template By Vereor.