www.robowars.org

RoboWars Australia Forum Index -> Technical Chat

Rover Video Camera


Post new topic   Reply to topic
  Author    Thread
Nexus
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 903


 Reply with quote  
Rover Video Camera

Just noticed JIms started selling the remote video cameras for the rover. Have seen these before but wasnt sure if they would work in Aus.
Would anyone know if you can tune in a TV to UHF channel 16 or 19.

The unit doesnt need a reciever as you tune in a channel on your TV to make it operate. Its range is said to be 150 feet easy and works off a 9 volt battery and is real small.

Sounds real good for robots just not sure about compatability in Aus
_________________
Bots that do not destroy you, only make you stronger.

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:32 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
timmeh
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 2517
Location: Victoria


 Reply with quote  

Yer i was looking at one of those and i might get one myself if they work here.

Ill just get the camera part and put it on my bot Cool
Who needs the pissy little tank when you have a killing machiene Twisted Evil
_________________
Tim Team Reaper.

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:49 am 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Spockie-Tech
Site Admin


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 3160
Location: Melbourne, Australia


 Reply with quote  

Channel Frequency isnt likely to be a problem, Aus TV sets should be able to tune that frequency, but the video standard could be.

I would imagine athat a US camera would put out NTSC video, whereas Aus TV's are setup to decode PAL.
_________________
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:37 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Nexus
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 903


 Reply with quote  

NTSC isnt a problem as have a habit of buying gear that does both.
Most sets these days seem to have NTSC as well.


If the frequencies are tuneable here then I figure I would just tune in my VCR to that channel and record whenever the bots going and edit it later.

Eventually wont even neen a screen, just the VCR but a monitor of sorts would be good to make sure its working.

Could also just us a video camera to test signal briefly , that way you dont need to cart around a TV, just a Video recorder.
_________________
Bots that do not destroy you, only make you stronger.

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:12 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

Don't forget the subcarrier frequency. We use 4.43M and they use 3.36M IIRC.

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:18 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Nexus
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 903


 Reply with quote  

WooHoo, checked a bit further and found out that they have just released a PAL version so think might get one in new year when have spare dosh.

If a few of us get these we can make some cool robot point of view edits.
_________________
Bots that do not destroy you, only make you stronger.

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:39 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Nexus
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 903


 Reply with quote  

Here are its specs

Sensing Area:1/3" CCD Focal Length: 4.6 mm Back focal length: 4.0 mm F no: 2.0 Iris: Fixed Field angle: 90 deg. Horizontal Resolution: 330 TV Line Focus extent: 15cm to Infinite Video output: 1Vp-p Composite video, 75 Ohm Minimum Illumination: 3 Lux (F=1.2) Shutter control: Auto, 1/60 ~ 1/15,000 sec Input power:9 ~ 12VDC Image pixels: NTSC - 510(H) x 492(V)
PAL - 628(H) x 582(V)
_________________
Bots that do not destroy you, only make you stronger.

Post Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:09 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Nexus
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 903


 Reply with quote  

Would anyone know if PAL channel 30 Europe is the same here in Aus.

Philip mentioned the subcarrier carrier frequencies for NTSC but is it the same for PAL Europe and PAL Aus channel 30.

Thats the specs of the Pal version of this camera so double checking.

Overall the specs seem ok, the 330 lines is its main limit for me but for PIP stuff that shoudnt matter.
_________________
Bots that do not destroy you, only make you stronger.

Post Mon Dec 27, 2004 4:33 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
Philip
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 3842
Location: Queensland near Brisbane


 Reply with quote  

I thought Europe used SECAM.

Post Tue Dec 28, 2004 5:29 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
ffej
Experienced Roboteer


Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Kurrajong, NSW


 Reply with quote  

No, a lot of it uses PAL. For a list of most countries and their TV standards, go to http://www.video-conversion.com/formats.htm .

Im pretty sure that it would be the same, we have used an Aussie VCR fine in Italy who run the same standard as the UK, and I think thats where Australia imported our standard from.
_________________
Jeff Ferrara
fb@ffej.net

ffej.net

Post Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:49 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
  Display posts from previous:      

Forum Jump:
Jump to:  

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1


Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Last Thread | Next Thread  >
Powered by phpBB: © 2001 phpBB Group
millenniumFalcon Template By Vereor.